Is Jesus calling you?

the_woman_with_gambling_maniaA young woman in England went to a meeting where she heard Mr. Ira Sankey sing…

“I am so glad that Jesus loves me.’

While the hymn was being sung she began to feel for the first time in her life that she was a sinner. All her sins came up in an array before her; and so numerous and aggravated did they appear, that she imagined she could never be saved. She said in her heart, “Jesus cannot love me. He could not love such a sinner as I.

She went home in a state of extreme mental anguish, and did not sleep that night. Every opportunity to obtain more light was eagerly seized. She took her place in the inquiry-room; and there she found, to her astonishment and joy that Jesus could, did, does love sinners. She saw in God’s open word that it was for sinners that he died, and for none other. When she realized this she began to sing “I am so glad that Jesus loves me, “Jesus loves even me.”

My friend do you today realize that you are a poor and wretched sinner, completely dependent upon the mercy of Christ for salvation? Do your sins seem so insurmountable that you wonder if this pure, and sinless God could ever love even you? He does.  And the strength of your relationship does not lie upon how tightly you hold on to God, but the strength of his hold upon you. The good news is that, “All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out.” John 6:37. Further, he says, “… all that He has given Me I lose nothing, but raise it up on the last day.”

Is Jesus calling you?  Come to Him! For he will not cast you out, and he is not going to lose you….He will raise you up on that last day.

The story was taken and adapted from, “Sankey’s Story of the Gospel Hymns”