The Hope of Oliver Cromwell

Oliver Cromwell at Marston Moor  1821

Oliver Cromwell at Marston Moor 1821

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
–Philippians 4:13.

When the illustrious Oliver Cromwell lay upon his death bed…

…he rejoiced that, although he had been a man of war, the strong arm of Christ had reached out and had drawn his heart into a penitent faith in the Redeemer.

He requested his wife to read to him Paul’s letter to the Philippians. When she came to the words, “I can do all things through Christ,” the dying man exclaimed. “Oh!  St. Paul, you are entitled to speak thus, and he who is your Savior shall also be my Savior too.

Oh! What love; to descend so low and take hold of the hand of such a mortal as I.”

After a brief prayer for those about him, the great man said, “I pass to my Father.” “I can do all things through Christ, which strengtheneth me,” and “Without me ye can do nothing.”

Would to God that you, and I, would learn to “go in the strength of the Lord God.” Would that I could learn to regard not the strength of my puny, weak self, and learn that “through Christ I can do all things.” Oh, what remorse and sorrow our own efforts often bring us, because we try to do too much in proportion to our strength and often end in miserable, humiliating failure.

Not so with him “who goes in the strength of the Lord God,” for then “he can do all things through Christ.” “Our Savior delights to have us seek his aid even in temporal, as well as in spiritual things, and is ever ready to bless us and cause the guiding rays of his light to shine upon us, and direct us in our daily cares.

Taken and adapted from, “Polished Stones and Sharpened Arrows”
Written by, C. W. Bibb