Inviting the Crowd

P00292

“Come unto Me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”

–Matthew 11:28 

There is an old story that came from Boston…

…about a school for the Blind. And in this school was a bright young girl named Laura. One day, when her teacher was trying to communicate with her, little Laura spelled out on her fingers the question, “What is the soul?” He answered her in the same mute language, “The soul is that which thinks, and feels, and hopes.”

As she spelled back, a look of longing passed over her expressive features, “And aches so.”

Oh, how often have I though of that—The Soul: That part of us which “aches so,” and which will continue to ache, and ache –oh so badly, if it does not have the gospel.

Little Laura’s quick apprehension of the soul’s capacity for “aching” often comes to me, and “pushes” me to work harder in reaching out to those aching souls that I meet. Sometimes it is at the store, sometimes to those at work, and obviously I try to reach out on Facebook and on my blog.

Who do I reach out to? I reach out and invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind.  Why? Because they are people just like me! They are people who are handicapped. They are people with not enough time in the day, and too much on their plate. Or, they are people with all the time in the world, and just long for someone to talk to. They are the lonely people who would give anything to have someone to laugh and trade secrets with.  They are people who have missed out on life. People to whom life has given a “one-two” punch. Dreams?  Shattered! Hopes? –Been so long, they can’t even remember what a hope looked like. Mistakes? Their whole life seems like a mistake. But are they called? You bet!  And they are called by someone important, and who really loves them… Jesus.   All I do is reach out…

But what do I do when I reach out? First, I “listen” to them in an understanding and empathic, Gospel mindset, that is listening so I can best minister to them. And then, I speak the Gospel to them. For the words of the Gospel, are the words of true hope. They are the words of love and compassion that have already been given, and come directly from the loving heart of a merciful, kind (unbelievably kind), and gentle Savior.

Do you realize what we have been given?

You and I have been entrusted, as Christians with the only means of cure that is possible for the millions of souls that are inflicted with this capacity for “aching.” Yes, that is true! You and I are gifted with the call of the Gospel. That is the call to come, –come to the Gospel. Come to Christ! And who is to come? Those who are tired. Those who ache. Those who are carrying burdens much to heavy to bear. Yes, to those who are poor, crippled, lame, and blind, just like me.

But you know what else is so great about this gift that we have been entrusted with? Well, it is that this gift is meant for us also! When I get tired with life, with sin, with problems that I have no control over, I too, can come to the Master of the Gospel. I too, can come when my feet are weary and my heart aches. The best part? The best part is that when I die, when this whole show is over, I am invited to a feast, a marriage feast, and it is a marriage feast that I am a part of as the Bride of Christ. Listen to this!

“The Spirit and the bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who wishes take the water of life without cost.” –Revelation 22:17

Do you see that? –“The Spirit and the bride say, “Come.”” That is you, me, and all of us Christians, and the Holy Spirit, sending out wedding invitations! “Come”!

And the best news is, the really best news is that this feast, this glorious wedding feast, is only for us. “Come,” let’s go!