He died for all

(c) Southwark Art Collection; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

“He died for all.”

–2 Cor. 5: 15 

Many years ago…

…a Christian teacher was telling a friend in a street of Philadelphia that he was afraid he would have to discontinue the little bible school, as he had seen no fruit whatsoever of his labors.

At the moment a little ragged boy came up, and asked him if he would come and see his brother, who was very ill. The teacher said he would come next day; but the little boy said his brother was very ill indeed, so he went with him down into one of the lowest streets of the city. On entering the room he was struck with the supreme misery of it. The father and mother were both drunk, and the sufferer lay on a mere heap of rags in a corner.

Going up to him, the teacher said, “My poor boy, what can I do for you? Will I get you a doctor?”

“Oh no, Sir,” said the boy. “Shall I find you a nurse, and have you removed to a nice bed?”

“Oh no, Sir, not that; but tell me, tell me, did you say that Jesus died for everybody?”

“Yes, I did.” “And that He will receive anyone who comes to Him?”

“Yes, indeed I did, dear boy.”

“Well, Sir, I know then that He has received me;” and after shedding a few tears, the boy dropped back on the bundle of rags—dead.

“All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out.”

–John 6:37

–Anecdotes illustrative of New Testament texts, Author, unknown.