“Truly Brilliant.”

0158a500900feeb295a83fe1cff1ed08abbf7de5

Sir Astley Cooper, on visiting Paris…  

…was asked by the surgeon-in-chief of France how many times he had performed a certain wonderful feat of surgery. The Englishman replied that he had performed the operation thirteen times.

“Ah, but, monsieur, I have done him one hundred and sixty times. And how many times did you save his life?” asked the curious Frenchman, after he had looked into the blank amazement of Sir Astley’s face.

“I,” said the Englishman, “saved eleven out of the thirteen. How many did you save out of one hundred and sixty?”

“Ah, monsieur, I lose them all; but de operation was very brilliant!”

This story reminds me of a lot of the theology that is floating around in a discussion forum that I co-admin… There are lots of texts, and there are lots of inferences being made. There are many pious sounding thoughts about the law, about points of doctrine, and even about grace…..

But when it comes to how we are actually saved… when you press a little deeper, you find ignorance, and “gross ignorance covering the people.” The results? Brilliant reasonings….. “de operation was very brilliant!” But, “Ah, monsieur, I lose them all” !!!

The Gospel, is very, very simple. “Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life.” –John 5:24

Simple, but really, truly “brilliant.”