The Timely Gospel Message

train-wreck3

“Tell them how great things the Lord hath done for thee.”
–Mark 5:19

A young lady sat in her room one day reading her Bible, and came to these words: “Tell them what great things the Lord hath done for thee.” The words rang in her ears, and refused to leave her, until she resolved she would speak to the first person she met on her way down town. Closing her book, she donned her coat, and stepped into the street just as a young man, who happened to be one of her particular friends, was passing. As they walked along together she tried hard to find courage to speak to him; but each time Satan would say, wait.

When they came to the place of separation they lingered a moment, and she said,”George, I want to tell you about my friend,” one that has been so kind and good to me, and one whom you would enjoy to know, and whose influence you so much need.” Her companion listened with unusual earnestness. “George, I want to see you under the care and influence of my Savior. Won’t you, now, just give up all, and take hold on him?”

The young man was deeply impressed, and promised to seriously meditate on such a step, at the same time informing his friend that he would leave town next day to be gone some time in the interest of his employer.

The young lady passed on down the street to attend some business, thinking little more about the young man, until, a few days after, when a small note was handed her, bearing these words:

Amy,
I accepted your great Friend as my friend, too:
I am now saved. Oh, how glad that you told me of him.

Your friend, George.

The words were written as he lay dying in a railroad wreck. Oh, Christian brother, sister, how many unsaved that are going directly to perdition would be saved, if you and I would do our duty in telling them of Jesus, pointing to his love and of the great things he has done in saving us!

Written by, C.W. Bibb