Sin, and a Bundle of Sand

800px-George_elgar_hicks27

.

A poor and desperate woman, driven partially crazy by her sins…

…came to a minister one day carrying a bundle of wet sand. “Do you see what this is, sir?” said she.
“Yes,” was the reply; “it is wet sand.”

“But do you know what it means?”
“I do not know exactly what you mean by it, woman; what is it?”
“Ah, sir,” she said, “that’s me; and the multitude of my sins cannot be numbered.” And then she exclaimed, “O wretched creature that I am! How can such a wretch as I ever be saved?”

“Where did you get the sand?” asked the minister.
“At the Beach, by the light.”
“Go back, then, to the Beach. Take a spade with you. And you dig, dig, and dig some more. Raise a great mound; shovel it up as high as ever you can, then leave it there. Take your stand by the sea-shore, and watch the effect of the waves upon your heap of sand.”
Pausing, looking into the sky, lost in thought, she exclaims, “Ah, sir, I see what you mean, the blood, the blood, the blood of Christ, it would wash it all away.”

Away, went her sins as she let the Lord wash her soul clean. Gone with her sins was her desperation and her sense of guilt. Gone was her fear and shame. The door was opened, the light turned on, the clouds evaporated. And replacing her degradation and anxiety, was a calm peace and a sense of relief and joy.

That is how the Gospel works. Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful…” John 14:27    

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Oh! precious is the flow
That makes me white as snow;
No other fount I know,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

 For my cleansing this I see–
Nothing but the blood of Jesus!
For my pardon this my plea–
Nothing but the blood of Jesus!

Nothing can my sin erase
Nothing but the blood of Jesus!
Naught of works, ’tis all of grace–
Nothing but the blood of Jesus! 

This is all my hope and peace–
Nothing but the blood of Jesus!
This is all my righteousness–
Nothing but the blood of Jesus!

 

source: Lyrics on demand.com