What a wise woman my wife was!

Katharina Von Bora Luther by Hollie DermerBe strong and courageous.
Do not be afraid or terrified because of them,
for the Lord your God goes with you;
he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

–Deuteronomy 31:6

At one time I was sorely vexed and tried by my own sinfulness, by the wickedness of the world, and by the dangers that beset the Church.

One morning I saw my wife dressed in mourning. Surprised, I asked her who had died. “Do you not know?” she replied; “God in heaven is dead.” “How can you talk such nonsense, Katie?” I said. “How can God die? Why, He is immortal, and will live through all eternity.” “Is that really true?” she asked. “Of course, I said, still not perceiving what she was aiming at; “how can you doubt it? As surely as there is a God in heaven, so sure is it that He can never die.” “And yet,” she said, “though you do not doubt that, yet you are so hopeless and discouraged.”

Then I observed what a wise woman my wife was, and mastered my sadness. —Martin Luther.