A Thought on Shepherds and on the Sheep who Follow them…

shepherd_goodBut he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the gatekeeper opens. The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.” John 10:2-5

“But you do not believe because you are not of My sheep. “My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand.…” John 10:26-28

In the 1800’s An American missionary who was travelling in Syria saw three native shepherds bring their flocks to the same brook…

…and the flocks drank there together. At length one of the shepherds arose and called out “Men-ah, men-ah” (which is the Arabic word for ”follow me”). His “sheep came out of the common herd, and followed him up the hillside.

Then the next shepherd did the same, and called out “Men-ah, men-ah,” and his sheep went away with him, and the man did not even stop to count them.

The American said to the remaining shepherd, “Just give me your cloak and turban and crook, and see if they won’t follow me just as soon as they would you.”

So he put on the shepherd’s dress, and called out “Men-ah, men-ah!” –But not a sheep moved an inch! “They knew not the voice of a stranger.”

“Will your flock never follow anybody but you?”

…inquired the American. The Syrian shepherd replied, Oh yes; sometimes a sheep gets sick and then it will follow anyone.”

Is that not just so with the flock of Christ?” 

–Christian Age, c 1860.