Head-Covering: Is It Still Relevant?

I have seen quite a bit of interest in this post. I want to reaffirm the people who have had questions, keep studying. I also want to reaffirm that this Christian tradition was NOT intended to make women any less beautiful. Grace and peace. –MWP

Regeneration, Repentance and Reformation

From The Protestant Pulpit UPHOLDING AND PROMOTING EXPERIMENTAL CALVINISM & REFORMED PIETY

Beautiful____[ It is always interesting to me when culture and theology meet… er, maybe I should say clash. Ever since the fall of Adam, the size, shape and texture of the proverbial “fig leaf” has been important, debated and watched. In this case, a nascent women’s liberation movement, in an ancient, educated, and cosmopolitan setting occurs; and of all things, it involves clothing at church. It also involves gender roles, how we see ourselves, “sexism”, culture, “progressive thinking”, submission, the will of God, and various other aspects of theology including, but not limited to, contextualization, modernism, values, seeker-friendliness,   etc.

The question is not how you may “feel about it”. Rather, the question is, How will you deal with the subject and also scripture? Will you dismiss the subject entirely? Maybe, even suggest that the “men” who push these thoughts are…

View original post 2,048 more words

3 thoughts on “Head-Covering: Is It Still Relevant?

  1. Hi!

    Thanks for this blog post. I’ve put together a study on 1st Corinthians 11 and the Christian use of headcoverings. I’m not sure if you’d be interested in taking a look at it.

    It’s available at: http://www.bit.ly/CoveredGlory

    I believe there is a need for focused, thorough, and well-documented resources on the topic of 1st Corinthians 11 and the Christian use of headcoverings. I’d be interested in any feedback whatsoever ~

    Thanks much,
    – David

    • Thanks David. Let me take a look at it in the next day or so and I will get back to you.

    • Hi David, I am about a third of the way through your document. And I will be happy to supply some feedback when I finish. On first blush, you have done an excellent amount of research, and it shows! May I ask you a couple of questions? I am rather curious as to what Christian tradition or church you hail to. And second, what Seminary or Bible college did you do your studies? This gives me a chance to see “how” you did your thinking and why. Warmest regards, Mike

Comments are closed.